Spain extends ban on Non-Essential travel from third countries for another month

The Spanish government has decided to extend the entry ban against the majority of ‘third countries’ in the face of the current Covid 19 situation and the spread of the Omicron variant.
According to an official statement made by the Ministry of Health, the entry ban imposed against those who wish to enter the Spanish territory for non-essential purposes will remain in place until the end of January 2022. The non-essential travel ban also applies to all travellers from the UK .
This means that travellers from the majority of third countries (non EU/Schengen Area) who are unable to present a valid vaccination certificate will be denied entry when reaching Spain for travel purposes.
Those who can present a vaccination certificate that proves that the holder has been fully immunised against the virus with one of the approved doses can enter Spain for travel purposes without being required to provide proof of an essential reason for their trip.
Despite the fact that Spain continues to maintain tight restrictions for all those arriving from non-EU/Schengen Area countries to prevent the spread of the Omicron variant, several third countries are not affected by the temporary entry restrictions as they have been reporting low infection rates.
Spain’s list of epidemiologically safe third countries currently includes Argentina, Australia, Bahrein, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, China (including Hong Kong, and Macao).
Entry from the above countries is allowed but travellers must still fill in a Health Control Form.
“Whichever country you are arriving from, all passengers arriving in Spain by air or sea (ferry), including passengers making flight transfers and children under 12, must fill in a health control form before they start their journey,” the statement of Spain’s official tourism website, Travel Safe, reads.
Meanwhile, France announced that unless UK travellers hold French residency, British citizens can no transit through France by road to reach their country of residence in the EU.
The operators of the Eurotunnel issued a warning to British citizens who live in the EU that they cannot travel through France by car from the UK due to new coronavirus restrictions imposed by the French government.
Getlink, the operator of the Channel tunnel, issued an urgent warning on its website and Twitter page on that appeared to confirm that the French government had changed its travel rules.
The statement read: “Following a French Government decision, on 28/12/2021, unless they hold French residency, British citizens are now considered 3rd country citizens and can no longer transit France by road to reach their country of residence in the EU.”